Days Four through Six: Family and Lobsters

            The primary purpose of this trip was to take a leisurely trip up North to see my youngest daughter Julie and her husband Tom.  They live right outside of Boston.  Since I retired in February, I had the time to be unhurried.  I chose to do some meandering along the way.

            Anybody who knows me knows the importance of my family, my wife and two daughters, my sons-in-law and my grandson.  So everything else on this trip was just frosting on the cake.  This expedition was ultimately about going to see Julie and Tom!

            I was able to have her old bicycle tires repaired and loaded into my car for the trip to Massachusetts.  I took her a plant that is a grandchild of our friend Fuzzy’s Schefflera.  I took a car full of this and that.  Some of it will now live in her basement instead of our attic, but that’s okay, too. 

            Tom and Julie have scoped out the best eating places in suburban Boston, and we had two great meals in nearby restaurants.  The 400 Restaurant and Bar must spend it’s money on food instead of signage, because 99 out of 100 tourists would drive right by this place.  But the cuisine was top drawer.  I can’t swear that the fish were swimming in the ocean the night before, but each of us was very happy with our seafood meals.  The next night we ate at the Waban Kitchen, another nondescript eatery, but we had to sit at the bar because there was no room anywhere else. 

Two great meals were bookends for a magnificent lunch of freshly harvested lobster.  Tom’s Dad and his family, live in Newburyport, MA, and always welcomes us with open opens.  This trip, he took Julie, Tom and me out on his boat to check his lobster traps.  Never ever done anything like this, and I loved it!  First we fished for some baitfish, and Tom won that contest.  When you pull up the lobster traps, the bait has been eaten.  You need to replace it, so Tom caught some mackerel (I think—what he landed looked like nothing I have ever caught in the creeks and ponds of South Carolina), so we had our bait.  In the traps, we found four eating-size lobsters, but had to put one of them back because she was loaded with eggs.  We took those three lobsters straight to land and Tom’s dad cooked them and we ate them.  Great experience! 

Julie also fixed me banana-blueberry waffles one morning.  Tom fixed homemade ice cream one night.  We ate well. 

Another highlight of this part of the trip was Sunday morning worship.  Julie had met the pastor of the Sherborn United Church of Christ through her singing group.  We went to Sherborn, as it turns out, on Youth Sunday, and loved it.   The church was packed.  The people were excited to be there.  Everything about the morning was good, and I needed that.  (Anyone who thinks that the only people who are enthusiastic about their faith are fundamentalists and conservatives needs to visit this congregation.  There are a lot of more liberal Christian folks who are glad to know that God’s grace extends to all people and not to just the limited few in their circles.)

On that upbeat note, I left town.  Julie’s last week at her old job was that week, and she has now begun a new job, still in the Boston area.  Great visit with two of my favorite people in the world.

Image

ImageImage

Categories: Family, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Days Four through Six: Family and Lobsters

  1. laurapv@aol.com

    Marion, I’m sending you and extra blog about Italy and Salzburg. More to come. Use them or don’t use them as you want.

    Laura P. Valtorta Attorney at Law 903 Calhoun Street Columbia, SC 29201 (803) 771-0828

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

