Cabin Fever

Image

Going nuts.  Home for a week getting over an illness.  Reacting to one medicine, I got worse before I got better.  Confinement is driving me crazy.  My friend Sandra would tell me, “That’s not a very long trip.”

It’s not a matter of four walls closing in on me.  We have lots of walls in our house.  I’ve had time to count them.  I began to think about Jack Nicholson in The Shining.

In our suburban home, we have diversions for just such times.  We have computers.  We own books and multiple television sets.  Daytime TV will anesthetize the mind.  Radio is worse.  Whether you choose to listen to a sports talk show or, heaven help us all, a political pundit, here is all the vocabulary you will need:

  • outrageous,
  • absurd,
  • ridiculous,
  • terrible,
  • worst ever,
  • awful,
  • never and
  • nobody.

On the sports talk shows, there were also a few awesomes and incredibles thrown in for the heroes of the home team.

Normally, I think I do pretty well alone, hanging out, enjoying time with myself.  I read.  I write.  I give myself permission to take naps.  I eat.  I read.  I write.  I take naps.  I eat.

During my imposed captivity, my body wasn’t up to walking.  I watched TV in the evening, but not in the daytime.  Ten minutes of radio was my limit.  I lingered over the comic strips I usually ignore.  I went through all the magazines that had been piling up.  I live with an unsympathetic woman.  I whine a lot when I’m not feeling well.  I sorted through old photos.  I opened the closet with the thought of cleaning it.  I closed the closet door.

I’ve begun to think I will never leave my home.

It’s terrible.

It’s outrageous.

It’s awful.

Because I am a writer, I also insist the experience is ludicrous.

My thesaurus tells me it is possibly even preposterous, absurd and derisory.

Dear Lord, get me out of here.

Categories: Health, Humor, Travel, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Cabin Fever

  1. Is what you have contagious ?

  2. Get well! Marion, it’sso true that we don’t appreciate our good health except when we don’t have it. And that we don’t remember how hellish it is to be sick and confined until we’re trapped — and then it feels like we’ve been trapped forever. “This too shall pass.” Hopefully sooner than later! 🙂

  3. Pat Catoe

    Feel better soon, Marion! By the way, too much sympathy can be just as bad as no sympathy at all!

  4. I feel your pain

  5. I have two suggestions — subscribe to Sirius Radio. Listen to channel 122, the Diane Rehm show (on daily at 10 a.m.). Or to channel 100, Howard Stern.

  6. Randy Rankin

    At least you get to watch NC State play ball tonight.

  7. I like to call sports radio and tv “Sports Shouting.” I find it insufferable.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

