At one time in my life, I believed each of these statements…

images[4]

  1. Dogs were males and cats were females.
  2. Pregnant women had eaten a watermelon seed, and the watermelon was growing inside them.
  3. Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy were real.
  4. My mom and dad were better Christians than our pastor and his wife because my mom and dad only had two kids which indicated they had had sex (whatever that meant) twice, and the pastor had four children which showed they had had sex four times.
  5. Saying the word “pregnant” was wrong. If the “condition” required a word, “expecting” was preferred.
  6. As a young entrepreneur, I thought I could sell two pieces of penny bubble gum for 3 cents. I learned I was wrong when I sat in front of our house on a busy street all day long and sold none.
  7. All Russians were bad.
  8. All Americans were good.
  9. Black people were somehow inferior to white people.
  10. You can trust people to do what they say they will do.
  11. Having an “official” forum (radio, television, pulpit or print media) suggests you must be right. People would say, “I heard it on the radio. It must be true.”
  12. North Augusta, South Carolina, was the capital of the world, and its geographical center.
  13. Schoolteachers do not curse.
  14. All families have a mother and a daddy.
  15. Powerful and important people (especially those in the church, the school, politics and the military) are good and are right and are to be respected and obeyed.
  16. People who drink alcohol are immoral, wicked people.
  17. Marriages should forever be full of romance and continuously happy. If married people argued, something was wrong with the marriage.
  18. My religious heritage provided the only right way to be in good standing with God.
  19. Foreigners or Immigrants who have difficulty with the English language are not as smart as “normal” people without accents.       (It did not occur to me, until embarrassingly late in my life, that the person who was struggling with English was at least bi-lingual—many immigrants speak or understand three or four languages—and I was the dolt with limited linguistic skills.)

(From Chapter 9 in my book, Overcoming Adolescence)

Categories: Book Review, Faith/Spirituality, Family, Humor | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “At one time in my life, I believed each of these statements…

  1. Well done, makes me want to read your book.

    • Monette, That is my current fantasy.

    • Pamela Greenlaw

      By all means you must read, reread, and rereread Marion’s book. Top Notch challenges that are vital. You will have to decide is you want to retreat into Peter Pan or you want to grow up. He mercilessly leaves you no choice. A bold book, and a great gift to yourself and perhaps to others

  2. Pamela Greenlaw

    There are people who believe religion is fantasy.

    • Yeah, Pam, there’s that. I guess that’s where faith comes in. I am willing to have faith in God. I am not willing to have faith in Santa Claus, talk show hosts, racists, and politicians.

  3. JEARL

    Growing up the adults would say “so and so is in a family way”….never pregnant.

  4. Earl, I remember that.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

