My Writing Life

My Writing Life

Marion D. Aldridge

(I need to get this off my computer or I will never get any writing done.)

Write

Write

Delete

Write

Edit

Google

Correct

Re-Write

Stare out the window

Make sure paper tray is full

Write

Delete

Write

Edit

Bathroom break

Get coffee

Check Facebook status

Check retirement account on-line

Write

Start over

Write

Re-Write

Delete

Consider doing actual research

Reject the idea of actual research

Take a nap

Start a different, mindless project, such as this one

Write

Google

Write

Re-Write

Fidget

Edit

Delete

Change chairs

Write

Pray

Write

Resist temptation to turn on TV

Re-Write

The end

Categories: Humor, Lists/Top Ten, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “My Writing Life

  1. Mary

    I know the feeling!—With my writing classes.

  2. Lee Wyndham

    This is hysterical. You made my day!

  3. JEARL

    You may want to move”pray” up a notch or two. 🙂

    • Angie

      Earl, I had the same thought… then figured not only was I being judgmental about his writing process but also hypocritical since he’s still doing more writing… and probably more praying… than I am. 🙂

      • Earl and Angie, My routine when I was preaching every week was literally to get on my knees at the beginning of the process to pray about the sermon. Honesty compels me to say I don’t do that every time I write a blog. Maybe I should. I do still pray, and sometimes on my knees. In fact, this week that has happened a few times. My humorous list was, of course, not complete. I didn’t mention all the times I go to the refrigerator. Open it. Close it. Re-open it. Etc.

  4. Steve

    Add take a drive around the neighborhood and I’m there!

  5. Yeah, Earl. I didn’t get these write/delete/pray/edit options in their right proportions.

  6. Hi Marion! My oldest son moved to L. A. to be a T.V. screenwriter this summer. I’m forwarding this list to him. I know if I can relate, he can, too!

  7. from my son:
    That is spot on haha… except for the fact that I may not even have that many “write” ‘s in there between all the google and Facebook breaks!

  8. Mary Turner

    You always say it just right.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

