Boundaries: Where the Pavement Ends

IMG_2891 I have a love/hate relationship with boundaries. On the plus side, they protect my family and me and all that I care about. Years ago a friend said, “Your right to swing your arm stops where my nose starts.” I like that. Some limitations make sense. If you own the property, you have the right to say No Trespassing. Why should I not conform to your instructions? You are allowed to protect what belongs to you.

On the other hand, boundaries can be unnecessarily limiting. The name of this blog is Where the Pavement Ends, meaning that the world does not stop where the street stops. Beyond the barriers that would restrict us, an endless creation jam-packed with fascinating life exists. I’m glad that explorers, scientists and philosophers pushed the limits, or life as we know it would not exist. Those who reduce their curiosity to what their parents told them was permissible when they were children are boring people.

Back and forth: Of course, a lack of boundaries can cause problems. Two types of people without boundaries are rapists and prostitutes.   The rapist says that he can have any part of someone else he wants. He literally enters another human being, attempting to merge with and claim what is not his. No boundaries. The prostitute says that anybody can have her. Again, no boundaries. No limits.

Back and forth: Too many boundaries are a problem. These people live in fear, rigid, self-restricted, which is a terrible way to live. Too few? Too many? I like the word “appropriate.” Marion Aldridge

“When you feel yourself becoming angry, resentful, or exhausted, pay attention to where you haven’t set a healthy boundary.” Crystal Andrus

“Appropriate boundaries create integrity.” Rae Shagalov

“The more severe the dysfunction you experienced growing up, the more difficult boundaries are for you.” David W. Earle

“Boundaries aren’t all bad. That’s why there are walls around mental institutions.” Peggy Noonan, Patriotic Grace: What It Is and Why We Need It Now

Categories: Faith/Spirituality, Family, Health, Quotations, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Boundaries: Where the Pavement Ends

  1. Dottie

    Hmmm, makes me think today! Thank you, Dottie

  2. Dottie, This is a much bigger issue than one blog. Really important thing to think about.

  3. A comment from one of my cousins on-line: And the sign said “Long-haired freaky people need not apply”………Sign, sign, everywhere a sign, blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind. Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?!

  4. texsc

    Woody Guthrie’s own, original version of “This Land Was Made for You and Me” had some stanzas that didn’t make the cut when the song went mainstream. Here are some of those “unsung” stanzas:

    As I went walking I saw a sign there
    And on the sign it said “No Trespassing.”
    But on the other side it didn’t say nothing,
    That side was made for you and me.

    In the shadow of the steeple I saw my people,
    By the relief office I seen my people;
    As they stood there hungry, I stood there asking
    Is this land made for you and me?

    Nobody living can ever stop me,
    As I go walking that freedom highway;
    Nobody living can ever make me turn back
    This land was made for you and me.

  5. True freedom lies within the boundaries set by God.

  6. Monet, I agree, but I learned a lot of human-set boundaries and were told they were God’s boundaries. e.g., Don’t ask too many questions. We confused polite and nice and being sweet and being faithful to God. Not the same!

  7. Larry Cobb

    Actually true freedom means being allowed to go outside the boundaries and God does allow this. God has not set boundaries on earth, He has merely set conditions for getting inside the boundaries of Heaven.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

