Nanowrimo

November is National Novel Writing Month, thus, Nanowrimo. Nanowrimo is all the reason or temptation anybody needs who has been making excuses about why they don’t write. I write non-fiction rather than fiction, but I’m using Nanowrimo to motivate me to write a book during the month of November. Wish me well.

This past weekend, I went to a writers’ conference and was alternately motivated and discouraged by conversations, workshops and meetings with agents, editors and other authors. Since I retired about a year and a half ago, I have been a part of two writers’ groups in Columbia (they are all over South Carolina). Here is the link to South Carolina Writers’ Workshop:

http://myscww.org

The groups usually meet twice each month where they read and critique one another’s writing. I love it. Good and interesting people. I like having a deadline. During the discussion, I figure out what I’m good at. I also learn the weaknesses of my compositions. My tastes are eclectic. I can write about baseball one week and the Civil Rights Era the next. As you can tell from my blog, I may write about addiction, then yoga, then a favorite vacation spot. Books, however, don’t get written by jumping from one interest to another.

So, during November, I intend to invest a lot of hours and energy into writing a book. For my purposes, that will be about six to ten pages each day. Wow. That’s intimidating. Wish me luck. Pray for me. I won’t be posting my blog until the month is over, so, you’ll hear from me next in December.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Nanowrimo

  1. Good luck, Marion! I would say I look forward to reading your new book, but my ADHD and dyslexia make it highly unlikely that I will ever get around to it. What genre are you interested in penning about (aside from non-fiction)?

  2. Stuart, I’m writing a book about baseball that even a dyslexic could read. Short and sweet.

  3. see film festival news (Mexico and Palm Springs) at http://laurapv.wordpress.com

  4. Chris

    Good, Luck! Looking forward to the finished book! 🙂 So far…it’s great!

  5. Steve Long

    Have fun!!

  6. JEARL

    Will miss your blogs. Enjoy!

  7. I’m in for 40k! Scheduling is key!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

