Birthday Thoughts—February 11, 2015

  • At age 68, I’m glad to be here still. Not everyone lives this long. For me, those are more than glib words. My two best friends died at ages 60 and 63. I miss them. I am glad to be here still to enjoy and hopefully to be enjoyed by my family and other friends.
  • I’m glad to have good health. I just got back from my two-mile walk. It’s 7:30 a.m.
  • Spiritual health is also vital. I will be in church this Wednesday evening for Kathwood’s weekly “prayer meeting.” I have had my quiet time and read my morning devotional today while I ate breakfast.
  • The newest Big Addition to my life is that I now attend Al-Anon, a Twelve-Step group. I think about two-thirds of the people I know should attend Al-Anon—established for the sons, daughters, husbands, wives, mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters and friends of people with an addiction, past or present. Who is not related to or a friend of someone who is addicted to something—alcohol, food, drugs, television, money, religion, talking, coffee, work, control?
  • Life is worth celebrating. Bluebirds, blackberry cobbler, baseball, books, cigars, naps, art, coffee, fireplaces, travel, rivers, weddings, laughter, soap, hats, Shakespeare.
Categories: addiction, Faith/Spirituality, Health, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Birthday Thoughts—February 11, 2015

  1. Gail

    68, going on 30! Happy birthday, my friend.

    By the way, I just printed out the “Contract Killer” post for my walking buddy/Presbyterian minister/mother of a son with special needs/wife of a minister who has serious health problems/……..and much more. Some people just defy being labeled. I’m glad I know you and several others like you.

  2. Thanks, Gail.

  3. texsc

    1947. I remember it well. A few months short of reaching my terrible teens. No thought of what to do with my life. As a farm hand’s son. No notion of ever being able to attend college; certainly no dream of becoming a college professor. Or a preacher, for goodness sake. God moves in a mysterious way His wonders to perform! Marion, I hope Number 68 is well spent with dear ones as a portent of the year to come for you.

  4. Bo Prosser

    Happy birthday my friend! GrTeful to know Yu, for the impact Yu’ve had In my life! Celebrate big!

  5. Have copied your Contract Killer blog to my post and getting quite a bit of action. D

  6. Thanks. No great plans for the day. One big trip on the horizon. Eat some more blackberry cobbler with my grandson.

  7. Jim Davis

    Happy birthday! Eating blackberry cobbler with your grandson…it doesn’t get any better!

  8. Nothing better than that.

  9. Lee Barker

    Happy Birthday,
    Marion!
    68 years of exciting adventures and enlightenment, I am sure.
    You certainly appreciate life more as time goes by.
    Life like Jesus grows sweeter with each passing day, through all the addictions, trials and tribulations.
    Enjoy your day.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Lee Barker
    Hilton Head, SC

  10. Jim Catoe

    Happy birthday Marion! I just celebrated my 70th on Sunday.

  11. Thanks, Jim. Happy birthday to you, too.

  12. Harry Rowland

    I am sitting in an airport awaiting for a flight back home. Marion, your brief blog was a needed breath of refreshment. Thanks and happy birthday my friend.
    Blessings today and again tomorrow

  13. Anne Walker

    Marion: We met 48 years ago and we have shared many of life’s ups and downs–thankfully more ups than downs !! Hope u had a good day today and pray u can celebrate many more birthdays!! Anne

  14. Annis Rankin

    Happy birthday, Marion! Randy and I send you best wishes for continued health and happiness.
    Annis

  15. Judy

    So glad you were born, Marion, and came our way.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

