My New Hampshire Adventure: The Dartmouth Connection

When I was invited to serve as the Bridge to the Interim at Trinity Baptist Church of Hanover, New Hampshire, several factors appealed to me. One is the relationship between the congregation and Dartmouth College.

Sandy and Ken Hale nurtured dozens of Dartmouth students in their faith pilgrimage over thirty years here. I can’t duplicate their work, but I was drawn to that aspect of the church’s ministry.

I enjoy the world of academia: plays, lectures, sports, the student newspaper, and all types of cultural events. Since I have been in New Hampshire, I’ve seen a live performance of Twelfth Night, heard the Charles Lloyd Jazz Quartet, participated at the University wide chapel service on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, and gone to two lectures at the Rockefeller Center on campus.

I was surprised to discover, after I arrived in New Hampshire, that I am officially the Baptist Campus Minister for Dartmouth College—for all Baptists: black Baptists, white Baptists, Cooperative Baptists, American Baptists, Southern Baptists, National Baptists, whatever. This week I assist in interviewing candidates to be the Chaplain of Dartmouth. I love this.

Trinity Baptist is very connected to the Dartmouth family. Students, staff, coaches, and others related to Dartmouth are part of the Trinity family.

I love my Clemson Tigers, but maybe I’ve got a bit of the Ivy League in me too. Go Dartmouth Green!

 

 

Categories: Faith/Spirituality, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “My New Hampshire Adventure: The Dartmouth Connection

  1. JEarl

    Envy your connection with the Dartmouth campus…..especially the students. Blessings.

  2. Great, glad you’re doing well in the North, but we need you back down South.

  3. Anne Walker

    They are fortunate to have you as the Baptist Campus Minister at Dartmouth. My great uncle from Vermont was a Dartmouth graduate.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Carole Hair

    They are fortunate to have you serving as the Baotist Campus Minister at Dartmouth College.

  5. Carole Hair

    They are fortunate to have you serving as the Baptist Campus Minister at Dartmouth College. They will receive as much from you as you are getting from this whole journey.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

