Limiting God

“I remember reading about an Irish missionary’s attempt to teach the Masai people about the Catholic Sacraments. The missionary said that a sacrament is a physical encounter or event in which you experience Grace or the Holy. The people were then confused and disappointed when they were told there were only seven such moments (and all of these just happened to revolve around a priest). One Masai elder raised his hand and said, “’We would have thought, Father, there would be at least seven thousand such moments, not just seven.’” Richard Rohr

I share that story because it’s such a perfect illustration of a huge problem Baptists have, as well as Muslims, Mormons, and Presbyterians. We all have a tendency to limit God to our experiences and our understanding.

Bad idea.

Christians claim to like Jesus (many of them, anyway), so we read the sacred texts that actually tell about him—his miracles, his parables, his teachings. To be exposed to Jesus is to discover what appear to be holy actions and holy words. We also read texts written by other people trying to explain Jesus. They wrote fifty or a hundred or a thousand or two thousand years later. Some of these writers are better than others. Some are actually un-holy. Jesus had warned about that. But persuasive people persuade and new groups get formed, believing that the Fourth Verse is more important than the tenth verse, or whatever. They become the Fourth Versers. They come to believe there is no way to follow God other than through the Fourth Verse.

The Masai elder is right. There are seven thousand moments, not just seven. A sunrise is a sacrament. A baby’s smile is a sacrament. There are tens of thousands of holy words, not just a few. God is not limited to the Fourth Verse. God told Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” In recent years, that’s become the theme of my spiritual life. Those pivotal words include a lot of verses in a lot of books and a host of experiences. No one has the right to insist that his or her narrow understanding of God is more spot on than mine.

I self-identify as a Christian, but I suspect there are Buddhists that are more Christian than I am. I think I’ll let God work all that out.

 

 

Categories: Faith/Spirituality, Quotations | Tags: , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Limiting God

  1. JEarl

    Right on, Marion! Your insights remind me of J.B. Phillips’ “Your God is too Small”. Even the Bible itself…particularly parts of the OT…can give the wrong impression of the accepting God of grace and mercy

  2. “I think I’ll let God work all that out.” I sometimes think that’s the purpose of eternity.

  3. “I think I’ll let God work all that out.” That should be every Christian’s motto, emblazoned on our hearts, our minds, maybe even on a bumper sticker!

  4. Bryce

    I am proud of you Marion. You demonstrate an understanding of God. Your writing is a sacrament.

  5. Anne Walker

    I absolutely love how your brain works!! Incredible spot on thoughts!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

