I Don’t Need To Repeat My White Christmas Experience!

2016-12-17-08-21-12

Last week, the snow fell in Connecticut, lots of snow. This part of the world, the rural landscape, can be stunningly beautiful. It was 27 degrees. I fixed bacon, eggs and grits for breakfast. Nothing was planned for the day. I washed clothes and cleaned the house. The snow is still on the ground and it is 10 degrees today. (I took this picture from the house where I am living.)

Life is good. God is good.

Last winter, in New Hampshire, when it was – (minus) 17 degrees, one of my South Carolina friends said we needed to call church off in that kind of weather. If you close church, school or businesses in bad weather up here, you’ll never go to church, school or work.

Have I ever had a White Christmas? Yes, and it was half magical and half not-so-much.

At age 24, I visited my girlfriend and her parents in Westchester County, New York, an area very similar to where I’m staying this year in Connecticut—hilly, rocky, rural, woodsy, no leaves on the trees, magnificent homes, a beautiful Currier and Ives setting. On Christmas morning, we ice-skated on the pond near her house. A fairy tale. Perfection.

Then, Christmas afternoon, it was time to leave fantasyland. Her dad was to drive us to the airport in New York City where my girlfriend and I were to catch a plane back to the Carolinas. I was in charge of a Young Life Camp beginning the next day, December 26. As we drove into the city, the snow was furious. After driving for a while, her dad asked which airport we were using. Turns out, he was taking us in the wrong direction to the wrong airport, and he was not a happy father-of-the-girlfriend. He had to backtrack to get us to LaGuardia. After he dropped us off, we discovered all planes had been grounded. Fourteen hours later, we managed to secure seats on a jet leaving LaGuardia. We arrived in plenty of time for our camping experience.

Though guilt comes easily to me, I never felt the trip to the wrong airport was my responsibility. He was the New Yorker. I kinda think it would have been smart of him to ask “Which airport?” when we left his house. Enchanting morning. The afternoon was less charming.

I’m pleased to say that relationship never worked out. I’d already met Sally Craig, and the next year, she applied her own charms and we married on December 22, 1972.   On Thursday of this week, she’ll fly into Connecticut for our anniversary. She’ll stay through Christmas. Snow or no snow? Who cares? I’ll have my love to keep me warm.

Categories: Family, Holiday, Humor, Travel | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Need To Repeat My White Christmas Experience!

  1. Anonymous

    Can’t say I miss it, but the weather you describe is/was, normal in Winter, all Winter. Down here the snow may come but soon melts ans Winter is OVER. Shucks,,, but good deal. Orey

  2. Sherry Bomar

    I spoke with your love today in the postoffice, no less. Very thankful for the not so long line. Happy anniversary, Marion and Sally! Enjoy your white Christmas (if you still have it) but the best part is to keep each other close and warm.

    Thanks for your wonderful Christmas letter–you all do such neat things, apart and together.

    Merry Christmas and lots of love to you and yours,
    Sherry

  3. Bryce Smith

    Right now it is 32 degrees at the Ross Ice Shelf, the closest ocean coast to the South Pole. They are enjoying 24 hours of sunlight My guess is that there are plenty of people in Connecticut and New York who are looking forward to global warming. You can’t please everybody. Happy anniversary. Keep writing and working for the Lord. Stay warm and warming.
    Bryce

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

