Suggested Reading for 2017

Falling Upward by Richard Rohr (The winner, hands down, for the volume that most affected me in recent years. Rohr says life is divided into two halves. The skills you need as a young adult are not the ones you need past age forty. If you only read one book in 2017, read this one.)

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow (Knowing way too little about the early history of our United States of America, I learned something on every page. It’s not a comic book, but it’s easy enough for adults to read. Hamilton gives perspective to this difficult political season.)

The Gifts of the Jews by Thomas Cahill (I find myself repeatedly quoting this book, so I must think it has something to say. I read everything Cahill writes.)

The Heart of Buddha’s Teaching by Thich Nhat Hanh (What I learned in Baptist life, including seminary, was a caricature of the actual beliefs and practices of other faiths. Over the past few years, I’ve been trying to listen to what Buddhists say about themselves, what Muslims say about themselves, etc. This book is a good start.)

The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration by Isabel Wilkerson (An impressive account, academic and easy-to-read, of Americans of African descent, who left a perilous existence in the Deep South and moved North, hoping to create better lives for themselves and their children.)

Under the Banner of Heaven—John Krakauer (Continuing in the theme of trying to understand worlds I know little or nothing about, I’m fascinated by Krakauer’s stories of both faithful and radical Mormons.)

Overcoming Adolescence by Marion Aldridge (Well, of course, this book impacted my life. This is my story. I distill thirty years of life’s sometimes painful lessons on the subjects of fear, grace, wisdom, power and addiction.)

Marion D. Aldridge

Mariondaldridge@gmail.com

Categories: Book Review, Faith/Spirituality, Holiday, Lists/Top Ten | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Suggested Reading for 2017

  1. Elaine Pauley

    Marion,
    Thank you for this list. I read Richard Rohr’s Daily Meditations but have not yet read his book. These books will be added to my ‘wish list’.
    You are near my previous home in CT. I hope you enjoy your sojourn there. Best wishes to you and your family.
    Elaine

  2. I always appreciate a list of treasured books. My list of recommendations includes Swing Time by Zadie Smith, Preparation for the Next Life by Atticus Lish, Underground Airlines by Canned by Franklin Schneider, and Hagseed by Margaret Atwood. Some of these are books from a different perspective. I always agree with Margaret Atwood. My book is Family Meal.

  3. That’s Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters.

  4. Margaret Atwood’s Handmaid’s Tale is always on my Best List. Should have been on this one.

  5. Anonymous

    I love your topics. The warmth of other suns is one of my favorite books read by Book Club a number of years ago. I also Loved Cahill’s the gift of the Jews. I’ll try Richard roars Falling Upward next!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

