75 Favorite phrases from hymns

For those interested in a more complete list of favorite phrases and lyrics from hymns, here is what I compiled from your Facebook posts.  If I missed your contribution, I apologize.  The responses were coming in bunches and I couldn’t keep up. Someone else may come up with a different list, but this looks pretty accurate for a Southern Protestant.

  1. All I needed thy hand hath provided…
  2. Amazing grace, how sweet the sound…
  3. Because he lives, I can face tomorrow…
  4. Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine; oh what a foretaste of glory divine…
  5. Christ, the Lord, is risen today…
  6. Cure thy children’s warring madness.
  7. Dance, then, wherever you may be, I am the Lord of the Dance, said he… It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back.
  8. Dear Lord and Father of mankind, forgive our foolish ways.
  9. Down in the human heart, crushed by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore, Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness, Chords that were broken will vibrate once more.
  10. For all the saints, who from their labors rest…
  11. For Everyone Born, a place at the table/For everyone born, clean water and bread/A shelter, a space, a safe place for growing/For everyone Born, a star overhead/ And God will delight when we are creators of justice and joy, compassion and peace/And God will delight when we are creators of justice
  12. For the Lord God reigneth, forever and ever, Hallelujah!
  13. God of grace and God of glory, on thy people pour thy power…Grant us wisdom, grant us courage, for the living of these days,
  14. Grant us wisdom, grant us courage, for the living of these days…
  15. Great is thy faithfulness!
  16. Have thine own way, Lord, Thou art the potter, I am the clay.
  17. He lives! He lives! Christ Jesus lives today!
  18. He walks beside me every day, ever watching o’er me lest I stray, helping me to find the narrow way: He’s everything to me.
  19. He walks with me, and he talks with me and, he tells me I am his own.
  20. Help of the helpless, abide with me
  21. Here I am, Lord. Is it I, Lord?
  22. I have blessed peace with my Lord so near, leaning on the everlasting arms.
  23. I love to tell the story, for those who know it best, seem hungering and thirsting, to hear it like the rest….
  24. I need thee every hour.
  25. I once was lost, but now am found…
  26. I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder; thy power throughout the university displayed.
  27. I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
  28. I will hold your people in my heart
  29. I’m just a poor wayfaring stranger Traveling through this world below… I’m just going over Jordan, I’m just going over home.
    1. I’ve got joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart…
  30. In the cold and snow of winter, there’s a spring that waits to be, unrevealed until its season, something God alone can see.
  31. It is well with my soul…
  32. Jesus loves me, this I know…
  33. Jesus paid it all; all to him I owe.
  34. Jesus sought me when a stranger, wandering from the fold of God…
  35. Jesus thou art pure compassion, pure unbounded Love thou art
  36. Jesus thou art pure compassion, pure unbounded Love thou art.
  37. Joy to the world, the Lord is come…
  38. Joyful, joyful we adore thee God of glory, lord of love. Hearts unfold like flowers before thee opening to the sun above…
  39. Just a closer walk with thee, Grant it, Jesus, is my plea…
  40. Just as I am, without one plea, but that thy blood was shed for me.
  41. Leaning on the everlasting arms…
  42. Lord, haste the day when faith shall be sight, the clouds be rolled back as a scroll…
  43. Love lifted me. When nothing else could help, love lifted me.
  44. Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all
  45. Morning by morning, new mercies I see…
  46. My chains are gone, I’ve been set free.
  47. My sin, not in part but the whole, is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more! Praise the LORD! It is well with my soul!
  48. O love that wilt not let me go, I rest my weary soul in thee…
  49. O Love, that wilt not let me go, I rest my weary soul in Thee…
  50. Onward, Christian soldiers, marching as to war, With the cross of Jesus going on before!
  51. Ponder Anew, what the Almighty can do!
  52. Praise God from whom all blessings flow…
  53. Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, prone to leave the God I love So here’s my heart, Lord, take and seal it. Seal it for Thy courts above
  54. Red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in his sight, Jesus loves the little children of the world
  55. Redeeming love has been my theme and shall be till I die.
  56. Riches I heed not, nor vain, empty praise…
  57. Serve the Lord with gladness.
  58. Silent night, Holy night, all is calm, all is bright…
  59. Strength for today, hope for tomorrow…
  60. Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place…I can feel His mighty power and His grace
  61. The church’s one foundation is Jesus Christ her Lord.
  62. The Light of the world is Jesus.
  63. There is a balm in Gilead to make the wounded whole.
  64. There’s a sweet, sweet spirit in this place…
  65. There’s a wideness in God’s mercy, Like the wideness of the sea; There’s a kindness in His justice, Which is more than liberty
  66. Thou and thou only first in my heart…
  67. Though this world, with devils filled, should threaten to undo us, we will not fear, for God has willed his truth to triumph through us.
  68. Through many dangers, tools and snares, I have already come. ‘Tis Grace hath brought me safe thus far, and Grace will lead me home.
  69. To God be the Glory, great things He hath done…
  70. Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in His wonderful face
  71. Was blind, but now I see…
  72. We make [God’s] love too narrow by false limits of our own, And we magnify His strictness With a zeal He will not own.
  73. Were the whole realm of nature mine, that were a present far too small; Love so amazing, so divine, Demands my soul, my life, my all.
  74. What a friend we have in Jesus…
  75. When we’ve been there 10,000 years… We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise than when we first begun.
Categories: Faith/Spirituality, Lists/Top Ten | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

